South Korea, is a country in East Asia, constituting the southern part of the Korean Peninsula. The name Korea is derived fromGoryeo, a dynasty which ruled in the Middle Ages. It shares land borders with North Korea to the north, and oversea borders withChina to the west and Japan to the east. South Korea lies in the north temperate zone with a predominantly mountainous terrain. It comprises an estimated 50 million residents distributed over 99,392 km2 (38,375 sq mi). The capital and largest city is Seoul, with a population of 10 million.

Capital Seoul
Official languages Korean
Religion Buddhist, Christian
Area 100,210 km2
38,691 sq mi
Population 50,219,669
GDP (Per Capita) $34,777
Currency South Korean won