Rwanda officially the Republic of Rwanda (Kinyarwanda: Repubulika y'u Rwanda; French:République du Rwanda), is a sovereign state in central and east Africa. Located a few degrees south of the Equator, Rwanda is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Situated in the African Great Lakes region, Rwanda is highly elevated; its geography is dominated by mountains in the west and savanna to the east, with numerous lakes throughout the country. The climate of the country is temperate to subtropical, with two rainy seasons and two dry seasons each year.

Capital Kigali
Official languages Kinyarwanda, French, English
Religion Roman Catholic
Area 26,338 km2
10,169 sq mi
Population 12,012,589
GDP (Per Capita) $1,592
Currency Rwandan franc (RWF)