Bangladesh officially the People's Republic of Bangladesh is a country in South Asia. It is bordered by the Republic of India to its north, west and east, by the Union of Myanmar (Burma) to its south-east and by the Bay of Bengal to its south. It is separated from the Democratic Republic of Nepal and the Kingdom of Bhutan by the narrow Indian Siliguri Corridor. Together with the neighbouring Indian state of West Bengal, it makes up the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal. The name Bangladesh means "Country of Bengal" in the official Bengali language.

Capital Dhaka
Official languages Bengali
Religion Islam
Area 147,570 km2 (94th)
56,977 sq mi
Population 150,039,000
GDP (Per Capita) $2,083
Currency Taka (BDT)