Afghanistan officially the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, is a landlocked sovereign state forming part of Central Asia,South Asia, and to some extent Western Asia. It has a population of around 30 million inhabiting an area of approximately 652,000 km2 (252,000 sq mi), making it the 42nd most populous and 41st largest nation in the world. It is bordered by Pakistan in the south and the east, Iran in the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan in the north, and China in the far northeast.

Capital Kabul
Official languages Pashto, Dari
Religion Islam
Area 652,230 km2 (41st)
251,827 sq mi
Population 31,108,077
GDP (Per Capita) $1,053
Currency Afghani (AFN)